Home Study here we come!

So today, while home on a much needed rest day (migraine almost completely done as of day 13!), I got an email from our adoption social worker, Kathy D., that our formal application was approved. I cannot express in this medium how excited I am. Since finding out I have had what I term “anxious stomach”. In a good way, if that even makes sense.

I am a bit surprised by how quickly the process has gone so far. In early Feb. we made the final decision to look more seriously into this and in about 2 months later we are at the home study phase. I am even more sure that this the path for us, doors seem to be opening and questions answered rather quickly.

I am a bit nervous about the home study process. I know that they are not judging us, but I can’t help but feeling like they are judging us. I am glad that we are good to go ahead with the home study while we are opening our house to some friends for a few months.

Next step is meetings. The home study process includes 3 – 4 interviews, and a bunch of paperwork. Not sure yet how much paperwork but we will know at our first interview, which may be as soon as Tuesday 4/10/12 right before our informational meeting. The rest of the home study meetings can’t happen until after the training on 4/20 and 4/21. Not sure how long a home study takes but I think it depends on how quickly we get the information they need back to them and schedule the meetings. More to come later as I know more. Any insight on what the home study process entails would be appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Home Study here we come!

  1. Congratulations! And as far as the home study goes, they really aren’t judging you. In fact, they want you to pass, but they just need to make sure that it’s a safe & decent place for a child, which I’m sure it is.

  2. I’m really excited for you too (& maybe a little jealous but remembering God’s timing is perfect). I’m looking forward to reading about how the next steps go. šŸ™‚

    • God’s timing is perfect. I know what you mean about jealousy. It is so hard to hear about people being pregnant or with their kids when all you want is for your family to be complete!

Leave a Reply

