Totally Unnecessary! (AKA Car Seat Training)

This past monday night, Joel and I made the LONG trek up to Ramsey, MN for the car seat training. The basic jest of the 3 hour long training was this:

1. Always put kids in car seats/booster seats/seat belts or they could get hurt

2. Make sure the seats are installed correctly into the car (by reading the owners manual) and that the kids are in the car seat/harness right

3. Kids need to be in car seats/booster seats longer now then they used to be (til 8 years old)

Oh, you already knew all of these things you say? So did I! Every time the instructor said how important it was the read the manual the came with the seat I wanted to ask “Then what was the point of the class?” but I didn’t yet have the certificate I needed so I didn’t ask that.

Other parents that adopted have gone through the whole process without having to go through this horrible waste of time. Since Joel and I are adopting through the foster care system we have to be licensed as foster parents. From the time the kids come live with us until we go to court to legalize the adoption (6-9 months later) we will technically be their foster parents. Therefore we have to go through all the trainings and get all the certificates required by the state for foster parents. On the bright side, should Joel and I choose to adopt or foster again, these certificates are good for 5 years.

Admittedly, I may be being too hard on the class. I did learn some good informational tidbits for if I am ever on jeopardy or should someone ask. Here are 2 tidbits for you:

1. Side airbags are primarily to aid in the event of a roll-over. They deploy for 10 seconds, which is the time it takes for the average car/van to roll over 4 times.

2. Infant car seats are installed at a 45 degree angle. Newborns must undergo a breathing test before leaving the hospital to go home to ensure that they can breath while reclining at a 45 degree angle. Sometimes premies or other babies with special needs do not pass the breathing test at the hospital and need a different kind of car seat, called a car bed. This lets the infant lie all the way down so there will be no breathing problems.

So I did learn things at the car seat training. They may not have been things that I will likely use in my daily life with kids (#1 hopefully and #2 due to older child adoption) but I still learned.

In the end it wasn’t too bad, the worst part was that we drove 150 miles (round trip) just to get there. While we were there I figured that we were closer to St. Cloud then we were to home (those from MN know what that means!). As much of a hassle as all this was, I don’t care. I would go to classes that are way out of the way and take hours and hours if that is what it takes get me from point a (today) to point b (having kids).

I will leave you with a comment my grandma (who will forgive me for calling her grandma here, right Sittee? 🙂  ) made on my last post: “Why to st cloud for training. i thought all you needed to do was connect the seat belt?” – Why yes, in the end, I found out as long as you do it right that really is all you have to do. Evidently to get the certificate I needed, they needed to tell me that near St. Cloud though. Sometimes I forget that I am working with the government for the adoption stuff after all!

Leave a Reply

