God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle…..um, yes He does!

I was scrolling through Facebook and a good friend of mine posted a link to a blog article about 3 Phrases That Christians Should Quit Relying On. It was a very interesting article about how common christian platitudes often fall flat when consoling people going through really hard times. I was really moved by the first phrase that was touched on and the explanation as to why “God never gives you more than you can handle” really isn’t applicable is awesome but I was struck by a desire for the author to go beyond just explaining why not to say it. 

In the adoption journey, and really in life, many times I have been given more than I can handle. At times before I had a close relationship with God I attempted to manage these times on my own and ended up in some pretty bad situations. Thankfully, I have found my way back to God and I have to say that things that I can’t handle are someone handle-able. 

I think this is where the platitude comes from. When you are with God and God is with you, you don’t have to handle things on your own. So what may, by yourself, be more than you can handle (by far), is (with God) hard and takes every ounce of strength, but doable. Things happen that are way more than you can handle, especially in the adoption journey. You fall in love with kids that don’t become yours. You wait and wait for information until you feel like you are going to explode. Your whole life seems to be focused on a future that feels like it may never come. 

Now, I am no theologian, but maybe God gives us more than we can handle so that when people look at us and hear our story, God’s glory not ours shines through.

2 thoughts on “God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle…..um, yes He does!

  1. I love this. May all the glory be His. And I’m really excited to hear what comes next in your journey. I have a different feeling about this time…but of course I’m no prophet. Keep us posted! And He won’t give you anything that HE can’t handle. (How’s that?)

Leave a Reply

