Blessed!!

We got the call today. The call I have been waiting for literally years for! The call that says they picked us!!!! The call that let us know that we are the ONLY family that the sibling groups of 3’s social workers are deciding to move forward with in the adoption process. No more interviews, no more families to meet or look at, they choose us! (Actual message, These are the kids God has been planning for you to have all along!)

I am filled with excitement, overwhelming love for everyone that helped us get to this point and a humble appreciation of the role that God has gratefully allowed me to play in these kids’ lives. Now, we are a little ways from them moving into our house and to be quite honest I have little to no idea what comes next. We have (obviously) never made it this far. What I do know is this: they are not moving forward with any other families, only us. They choose us and want to meet with us Friday to speak more. We cleared our schedules and got ready to open our home to two ladies who are about to sign off on giving us kids!

I would love some feedback from those that have gone before us as to what actually comes next in the process. This is what I know: they want the oldest to start the school year at her old school, they asked us at the first meeting if we were interested in a legal risk placement (TPR trial is this week), and we have had 1 meeting with no paperwork exchanging hands about the details of the kids’ behaviors, just verbal. I hope that gives you an idea as to where we are in the process. They have told us everything and Joel and I are beyond committed to these kids.

I’m going be a mom!!!! I was going to try and wait to post anything about it until friday when I knew more but, come on that just wasn’t going to happen!

I am going to be honest and say that I am experiencing a surprising feeling today, numbness. I am so excited and my heart has been doing jumping jacks (probably to get away from the butterflies in my stomach that were bothering it), but I am also at times sitting on the couch with a blank face, staring at the wall thinking, What the heck? Is this for real? Am I dreaming? Am I really going to be a mom? These are my kids? How on Earth could I be this incredibly blessed? 3 kids, how much laundry is that? Oh my goodness, I can’t wait to see what they look like!

I cycle from excited to planning to day dreaming to numb and back again in a matter of seconds. It all hasn’t really sunk in yet, I wonder when it will.

8 thoughts on “Blessed!!

  1. Oh my goodness, what incredibly exciting news!! I’m so happy for you and Joel! These kids will be so blessed to have you both in their lives. I hope the rest of the process goes smoothly – I’ll definitely keep your family in my thoughts and prayers. Can’t wait to hear more about how the Friday and the TPR trial goes!

  2. Praying for you, Joel, and those three children. Healthy families are a lot of work, but also incredibly fulfilling and love-generating. Congratulations!

  3. Katie, I literally just got on here to see if you had posted and I’m sooooo excited for you. And I typed this awesome comment with our experience and some things to expect and then my phone ate it. No joke. So long comment short: at the full disclosure meeting (I don’t know if this is Friday or if it will be later) expect to hear, or rather read, the unrated version of the workers’ PG rendition if behaviors. Seriously doubt it will be a deal breaker, but I can say from experience that actual reports were different and sadder than the initial story(s)we had been told. So expect that. Its a good thing to get the real deal – it will help you be prepared for shocking things later, and be less shocked at them! And I hope they have or can send you more pictures then. Pics are so fun!

    Congratulations, Mom!!! So excited for you. Feel free to drop me an email any time – I would love to answer any more specific questions you might have about the process, about adopting older kids from foster care, etc. I’ll be anxiously checking for an update this weekend!

Leave a Reply

