Dinner with all 3 kids

The following night we returned to the foster home of our youngest two kids to have dinner with all three kids and all three foster parents. We were so excited and one of us (not saying who, but those that know us can guess which one of us) was super nervous. The other person responded “That’s ok, your just always nervous” LOL Sad but true. It was the first time that we would be together with our entire family. All three kids would be there, knowing we were to adopt them, with us, their future parents.

We talked said hello to everyone, especially our eldest as we hadn’t seen her since Saturday and got to playing until dinner was ready. At dinner I noticed that the oldest daughter, that I previously thought was a really picky eater, had exactly the same thing as I did on her plate. Talk about a reality shock. I am a picky eater!!!!!!! WHAT?!?!? I told Joel this brilliant revelation in the car on the way home and he was less than surprised…apparently he already knew! I guess I can’t blame our eldest daughter for her food preferences.

After that the kids went downstairs to play while Joel and I spoke with the foster parents about how this week had gone for the kids. It was exciting to hear how the kids are processing the adjustment so far. I know I will blog about this all separately but my kids have had the best foster parents ever! We then couldn’t take it anymore and wanted to go play with our kids! there was a piano down stairs and they put on a show, we got to clearly see their interactions and how their personalities mesh (or don’t) together. Oh man will we have our hands full once they all live there (by the fact that there are 3 of them alone!) but I am excited for them to be together and for all of us to be together. At the end of the night, the youngest two were a bit jealous that the oldest got the spend the weekend with us and move in sooner, but were excited for our day to visit on Monday.

I think that is all the blogging I have in me for tonight. There is SOOO much more to write about such as a HUGE weekend with my oldest daughter, going to family events where she knew no one and Joel had to be busy for long stretches of the days and just in general testing and getting used to us. I will also talk about the most surprise reactions I had, emotionally, this weekend since it was my first weekend being a mom!

One thought on “Dinner with all 3 kids

  1. Thank you again for taking the time to update us when you must be so wrapped up in just *living* right now. I am so happy for you. Having had 3 boys one at a time, I can tell you that I don’t envy you getting all 3 at once, but I think you’ll do wonderfully. Just don’t be too hard on yourself when the tough moments come and make sure you talk to someone. πŸ™‚ Having three kids is a wild ride, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

