National Adoption Month

Today is the second day of National Adoption Month. Last year at this time I remember longing for the day that I would be an adoptive mom and being heart sick over all the joy going on around me and yet me there having an unfulfilled calling. Last year, I didn’t mark National Adoption Month as I felt I had nothing to say, not being an adoptive mother yet. This year is SO different! My life is markedly more stressful, crazy, and overwhelming but it is also so much more filled with love, happiness, and fulfillment. Unless someone has gone through the process of going from a simple husband and wife duo to a family of 5 kids, all WAY past the baby stage, I don’t know if they can completely understand the huge transition that this is. Having kids is always a transition, and as much as people are excited about it, no one is EVER prepared!

Today I write that with a deep feeling of blessing that I am now the adoptive mom to my three beautiful children, but also sassiness and crabbiness. Today I wish that I could portray the patient, kind hearted adoptive mother I always imagine that I would be. However, today that has not been who I am. Today I have been short, irritable, and just down right crabby with every single living thing in the house. Poor kids, Joel, and Sammy had no idea the tornado that was coming when I woke up this morning! I have only been a mother for a little over a month but I hate that somedays are like this and I am not the person I want to be. I took a break (thank you Joel!) in our room watching TV (TV in our room has been such a great idea!)

Somedays parenting three children is hard (harder than I thought), but it is ALWAYS worth it!

Leave a Reply

