How a Day Changes Things!

Tonight I am sitting here watching a movie considering how different things are today than yesterday. Yesterday I was considering blogging about the day and the post would have been titled “The Day They Lost Their Minds!”. It was an epic title for an epic day. Today was a MUCH better day. So much can change in 24 hours, especially with kids!

Now I will get into why yesterday was so hard. To begin with S’s school was canceled. Nope it wasn’t a blizzard here or anything. It was cold, like below zero and wind chill. I understand canceling recess and such, but once the kids are in the school they should be fine (the furnace is working!). Ok, rant over now but suffice it to say that I was bummed there was no school. Oh how the tables have turned. I used to pray for snow days a mere year ago, now I pray for school days! LOL!

So I had 3 kids very near cabin fever inside with nowhere to go all day! Ok, that is not really true, it would be more honest to say nowhere fun to go all day.  We had 3 hours of therapy that we had to do in the afternoon that was not canceled and entertaining the two kids that are not in therapy while the third child is in therapy and then switching it up twice. Then therapy brings up such hard stuff the kids have a tough evening. It is better to have 1 bad day of the week than 3 separate hard days for each kid we figure. Anyways, we always count Thursday as a lost cause.

Tonight I am sitting here watching a movie considering how different things are today than yesterday. Yesterday I was considering blogging about the day and the post would have been titled “The Day They Lost Their Minds!”. It was an epic title for an epic day. Today was a MUCH better day. So much can change in 24 hours, especially with kids!

Now I will get into why yesterday was so hard. To begin with S’s school was canceled. Nope it wasn’t a blizzard here or anything. It was cold, like below zero and wind chill. I understand canceling recess and such, but once the kids are in the school they should be fine (the furnace is working!). Ok, rant over now but suffice it to say that I was bummed there was no school. Oh how the tables have turned. I used to pray for snow days a mere year ago, now I pray for school days! LOL!

So I had 3 kids very near cabin fever inside with nowhere to go all day! Ok, that is not really true, it would be more honest to say nowhere fun to go all day.  We had 3 hours of therapy that we had to do in the afternoon that was not canceled and entertaining the two kids that are not in therapy while the third child is in therapy and then switching it up twice. Then therapy brings up such hard stuff the kids have a tough evening. It is better to have 1 bad day of the week than 3 separate hard days for each kid we figure. Anyways, we always count Thursday as a lost cause.

So the kids were in rare form on Thursday. They were picking and pushing my buttons and I was trying my hardest to stay calm and not respond so they started picking and pushing EACH OTHER’S buttons. Now, I did not stay calm. I mean really really bad day for me being a mom. I threatened to take away education. Ok, really I said if they continued to behave badly and be disrespectful then I would not teach home preschool that day. The kids LOVE preschool and S was excited to be there for preschool as I usually do it when she is in school. Well, like kids do they meet the bare minimum respect and behavior requirement to do preschool and then went right back to losing their minds. Then it was nap and rest time (which was a battle I didn’t want to fight but did and lost as no one rested) and then time for our long therapy adventure. I was losing my patience by the minute. When Joel got home I just needed to tag out and be alone for a while. Thankfully Joel asked what I needed and I tried my hardest to make it but finally Joel convinced me that it would be best for the whole family if I went for a break. I decided that I wanted to go to the gym but I needed to eat. Joel said he could handle dinner and bedtime with the kids (He is a SAINT!) and I could go get dinner on my own and work out. I got one in time to give C a hug goodnight and help tuck S in. When I got home I got the report that the kids behaved wonderfully, of course!

Anyway, I learned something important yesterday. When kids get testy they just need some run around play time. We have a great basement for that when it is too cold outside. Oh well, you live and you learn. Today, armed with this new knowledge, I was set to have a great day. We got S off to school with no arguments, I went to the gym while P and C were at the gym daycare (and P didn’t even cry his eyes out. Evidently as long as he gets to hold my keys he is ok, and yes I have an extra set just in case), and then came home. I set the kids up with PBS so I could do some housework and bills and then we spend the better part of 2 hours playing in the snow. The weather was GORGEOUS today for it. The kids decided to build “nests” and “dens” to hibernate. How cute what their minds pick up. We did preschool, took naps (well tried to take naps) and finished a bunch of house chores. Then went to get S from school and played in the snow. The night ended awesomely. S made a friend with the neighbor girl while we were playing outside and was invited over to play after dinner. I walked my eldest daughter over to her first play day today and it was awesome! We put in a movie and had popcorn for the little two. When I tucked P into bed he hashed me to rock him before reading and prayers which I did and he fell fast asleep in my arms. There is something heart warming about your child falling asleep in your arms. Such trust! No S is home from her play date and says she wants to go over there “like all the time”. Which is amusing and so age typical. Now I am off to put C to sleep.

Oh I forgot about the funniest part of my day. After playing outside the kids and I ran to the grocery store to get food for dinner and before we could get loaded up I had two screaming/crying children. C was screaming and upset about not being invited to the neighbors house and P was screaming/crying from something or other. First it was because his hands were cold and then it was because I was holding C and not him and finally it was because I asked S to buckle him in and I wasn’t. I told them all I would give them a chance to come with me, but if they were still screaming/crying when we got to the store I would bring them home and they would have to wait with Dad while I got food. They all made it and got to use the small size carts. One kid to hold my purse and two kids to hold 1 pizza each. NOW off to put C to bed!

I have linked this post to #WASO the weekly adoption shout out. For other great blogs on adoption go here: http://theadoptionsocial.com/tag/waso/

Leave a Reply

