Gotcha Days

It has been a year. Over a year since I became a mom! A year since my family was complete. A year of long days and even longer nights. A year of more frustration than I’ve ever felt before and a year of more joy than I ever though possible.

On September 25, 2014 it was a year since Skye moved in. Our first child and eldest, the first one (but not the last) to turn my hair grey! We us celebration plans but my headache got in the way 😒 so my amazing hubby picked up the slack and took the kids out for froyo. Skye was so excited that it had been a year. We talked about how this is the longest she has ever lived in one place ever and that there are many many more years to come.

On October 11, 2014 it had been a year since Cayla and Preston moved in. I’m not sure that they completely understand what gotcha day is yet. We told them that they had been with us for a year and we were celebrating, kind of like a birthday but they don’t get older. It was the weekend so we had more family time and decided to go to a movie. We saw Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. I liked it, except for an off-color adoption joke that I’m not sure my kids understood anyway. The movie is based on my all-time favorite kids book! It was a special treat to go see a movie in theaters and the kids each got to pick a candy.

In thinking back on this anniversary I can honesty say that I have so many feelings. At times it feels like it’s been forever that they have been here and I can’t remember life without them. At other times I feel like I am still a brand new mom and surprised at everything.

My kids have gotten more stability in the last 12 months than they have known all their life. In foster care they didn’t know what their life would be like in a month or a year. Before that they were with birth family and not especially safe and didn’t have a home to call their own.

Their early life experiences will be with them and color how they see the world for a long long time, but we are also seeing slow incremental growth in the ability to trust, love, and ask for what they need.

I’m looking forward to many more gotcha days to come!

One thought on “Gotcha Days

  1. I like ‘gotcha days’! We call them Coming Home days, which is rather dull.
    But, we do enjoy celebrating the boys moving in. In a way, I think it’s a nicer day than their birthdays, which our boys find stressful.
    Wishing you many more happy gotcha days!

Leave a Reply

