Healthy Living Journey!

This blog was originally started to track my progress on two important journeys. The journey my husband and I began to add children to our family through adoption as well as my journey to a healthy lifestyle. A quick scan through past posts will make it clear which journey took precedent. As my last post talked about, it is so easy to put yourself on the back burner and focus all of your energy and strength to pouring into my kids and spouse. About when school started I was feeling burnt out with no energy or motivation. I was tired and crabby and not happy with pretty much anything. I knew I needed to make a change, but I wasn’t sure what I could do. I knew I wanted to go back to working out.

So in September I went back to the gym regularly. I followed the Couch to 5K plan as well as a weight training plan a trainer made for me a LONG time ago (like last December). I did that for a while and saw minimal change in energy and weight. Then I connected with a friend who does Advocare and asked about that. I decided to start that a see how it goes (although I was sure it wouldn’t work). It was on the expensive side so when I started the 24 day challenge I decided to do it all the way. My (not very positive) thinking at the time was that I didn’t want to waste my money twice so I would follow it to a T this time so I could be sure it wouldn’t work. Well, I don’t know why I doubted it because the science behind it makes sense.

Anyway 2 months into my decision to change my lifestyle to a more healthy and I’m down 17 pounds, can fit into clothes I haven’t in a while, and have MUCH more energy. Some nights I don’t even go right to bed when the kids do!

I will continue to update about how things are going! If you have any questions about Advocare or are interested in it, comment here or on my comment page and I will get in touch with you!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Living Journey!

  1. Go to bed earlier! Sleep is a huge part of weight loss, it helps keep the right balance of hormones in your body to promote it, plus it reduces overall stress which is one of the key producers of cortisol (read about it).

    Good luck and congrats on your progress.

Leave a Reply

