“forever family” and other things I want to promise

This just bring home all my thoughts from this Mother’s Day weekend. And as hard as it was for me, it was tons harder for my kids who are learning to love and feel safe again

wonderment, etc

I dropped Youngest off at a playcare center yesterday for a few hours. Oldest was at school and it was my husband’s birthday so he and I were doing a lunch date. Something we haven’t done since, well something we’ve never done since Oldest came home.

Youngest was excited to play with the trains, the slide, and all the other goodies they have to entice children away from their parents. But he also wasn’t keen to leave me. I talked to him on the way in and sang our little goodbye song that talks about how I’ll come back. (Sidenote: thank you Daniel Tiger for your parenting wisdom.) Then I signed him in and handed him over to the worker. She sensed his nervousness and said, as many care-workers do, “It’s okay. Mommies always come back.”

Except they don’t.

I have that whisper in my head anytime I hear myself…

View original post 494 more words

Leave a Reply

